MINUTES Meeting of the Hunter College Senate 18 April 2012

1 2		The 535 th meeting of the Hunter College Senate was convened at 3:55 PM in Room W714.		
2 3 4	Presiding:	Andy Lall, Vice Chair		
5 6	Attendance:	The elected members of the Senate with the exception of those listed in Appendix I.		
7 8 9		Alternate Senators were formally seated in accordance with the procedures approved by the Senate, and clickers were distributed to them.		
10 11 12		It was moved that the agenda be changed to allow the Chair of the Undergraduate Course of Study to report at this time. The motion carried by voice vote.		
13 14 15 16	Committee Report:	<u>Undergraduate Course of Study Committee</u> The Vice Chair called on the Chair of the Undergraduate Course of Study Committee, Professor Eckhard Khun-Osius. Below is a summary statement of his report. He said:		
17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28		"Guidelines for submitting proposals for review for the new common core have been provided by the committee. These guidelines include the steps, a timeline, and templates. Departments may choose what category or buckets they want to place their courses. Keep in mind that some categories are restricted, such as the Required Core. The committee won't override the departments' placements of courses in Buckets. However, the committee will recommend that the department reconsidered their placement of courses if they see a disparity between buckets. The committee's main task is to make sure the syllabi match the Learning Outcomes found in the CUNY Common Core forms. The Guidelines, Forms, and samples can be found in the Hunter College Senate website. The website URL is http://www.hunter.cuny.edu/senate/guidelines-for-submitting-courses-for-senate-review-for-inclusion-in-hunter2019s-submissions-to-the-cuny-common-core-course-review-committees".		
29 30	Minutes:	The minutes from April 4 th were approved as distributed.		
31 32 33	Report by the President:	There was no report.		
34 35 36	Report by the Administrative Committee:	The Vice Chair presented the report as follows:		
 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 		 a) <u>Approved Curriculum Changes</u> The following curriculum changes as listed in the Report dated 4 April 2012 have been approved as per Senate resolution and are submitted for the Senate's information: Items US-1744 (Film & Media), US-1751 (German), US-1753 (Political Science), US-1754 (Political Science). b) <u>Search Committee for Vice President for Development</u> The Vice Chair presented the following list of nominees for the Search Committee. <u>Nominees for Chair Panel:</u> Len Zinnanti, Vice President for Administration Nicole Vartanian, Provost Office 		

Minutes Meeting of the Hunter College Senate 18 April 2012

52 53 54 55

55			
56	Nominees for Member Panel:		
57			
58	FACULTY		
59	Humanities & Arts:	Reuben Blundell (Music)	
60		Redoon Branden (Rusie)	
61	Social Sciences:	Lennie Feldman (Political Science)	
62	Social Sciences.	Victoria Luine (Psychology)	
63		victoria Lunie (r sychology)	
64	Sciences & Mathematics	William Salaalii (Caagraphy)	
	Sciences & Mathematics	: William Solecki (Geography)	
65		Daniel Chess (Math. & Stat.)	
66		Jill Bargonetti (Biological Sciences)	
67			
68	School of Education:	John Brown (Special Education)	
69			
70		Schools of Health Professions/School of Social Work/Nursing/Library	
71	Pamela Mahon (Nursing)		
72			
73	STUDENTS	Jarret Freeman (Political Science)	
74		David Wexler	
75		Colleen Cash	
76			
77	STAFF:	Eija Ayravainen, Vice President of Student Affairs	
78		David Crick, Institutional Advancement	
79		Eunice Lewis-Broome, Vice President for Student Affairs	
80		Fay Rosenfeld, Roosevelt House	
81		1 uj 100001101u, 10000 + 010 110 uso	
82	DONOR ORGANIZAT	TONS	
83		Barbara Chester (Hunter College Foundation)	
84		Craig MacPherson (Hunter College Foundation)	
85		Cathy Weinroth (Hunter College Foundation)	
85		Carry Wennoth (Hunter Conege Foundation)	
80 87	It was moved that the Secretary h	instructed to east a single hallot in forcer of the nominees	
		It was moved that the Secretary be instructed to cast a single ballot in favor of the nominees. The motion was approved by voice vote without dissent.	
88	The motion was approved by voice	vote without dissent.	
89			
90	The state of the s		
91		urned. The motion carried and the meeting adjourned at	
92	4:10 PM.		
93			
94			
95		Respectfully submitted,	
96			
97			
98			
99			
100		Lisa Marie Anderson	
101		Secretary	

Minutes Meeting of the Hunter College Senate 18 April 2012

APPENDIX I

The following members were noted as absent from the meeting

Faculty

Africana&PR/Latino Studies Edgardo Melendez (A) Milagros Denis-Rosario (A) "E" Anthony Browne Judith Friedlander (A) Anthropology Marc Edelman (A) Ida Susser Art **Richard Stapleford** Chemistry Gary Quigley (A) Pamela Mills (A) Classical & Oriental Studies Joanne Spurza **Computer Science** Felisa Vasquez-Abad Saad Mneimeh (A) Jody Polleck (A) Curriculum & Teaching Melissa Schieble (A) Economics Timothy Goodspeed (A) Howard Chernick Avi Liveson **Educational Foundations** Arnold Wolf (A) Cynthia Walley John Keegan (A) Chong Chon-Smith English Barbara Webb Film & Media Michael Gitlin Ricardo Miranda (A) Wenge Ni-Meister (A) Geography Allan Frei (A) Traci Warkentin History Daniel Hurewitz (A) Richard Belsky (A) Mathematics & Statistics Verna Segarra (A) Music Maura Donohue (A) Nursing David Keepnews Terry Yannaco (A) Omar Dahbour (A) Philosophy Laura Keating Physics & Astronomy Noel Goddard (A) **Political Science** Robyn Marasco Robert Jenkins (A) Charles Tien (A) Psychology Tricia Striano (A) Peter Moller (A) Romance Languages Maria Cornelio (A) "E" SEEK Maria Rodriguez "E" Sandra Granizo Cruz (A) School of Social Work Nancy Giunta (A) Michael Lewis Marina Lalayants (A) Joong-Hwan Oh (A) Sociology Tom Degloma (A) Special Education David Conner (A) Student Services Madlyn Stokely Urban Affairs Stanley Moses Urban Public Health Lydia Isaac (A)

Lecturers and Part-Time Faculty Ashley Vaught (Philosophy) Jocelyn Berger-Barrera (Library) Barbara Sproul (Religion) Carmela Scala (Romance Languages) Claus Mueller (Sociology) "E" Administration Bill Zlata **Ex-Officio** Ranette Garcia, USG Pres. Sonya Acevedo, CLT Council Pres. Theodore Ryo, GSA Pres. Patricia Rudden, Alumni Assoc. Students Nada Aziz (Geography) Michael Green (Economics) Ariela Hazan (Macaulay Honors) Rochelle Thewet (Philosophy) Loranzo Donvito (Romance Lang.) Sarah Alshawish (Bio) Maggi Delgado (Film & Media) Ambalika Boodrham (THHP) Krishan Sharma Eileen Chen (Psych) Jarret Freeman (undecl.) Eli Cohen Raoul Valencia (undecl) Shaun Persaud (English) Umila Singh (Economics) Patricia Colon (Economics) Deodat Ruplall (Comp Sci) Kevon Rankin (Poli Sci) Karen Ciego (SW) Ireina Cupeles (SEEK) Marcin Wisniewski (Music Grad) Runako Taylor (Grad. Classics) Meg Krietsch (Anthopology) Raya Harris (undecl.) Will Lewis Anna Kovalevska

Caroline Park Sandrea Sicangco (Biology) George Pierrakeas Chaya Shagalov (SW) Jude Cyril Buenasedo Eamon Pickard (Physics) Zhang Chong Chen Shawn Rafeeq Andrea Montesdeoca (undecl.) Alexcia Foster (Theatre & Art) Benedict Joson (Poli Sci)