Room 1018 East Building Phone: 772-4200

# **MINUTES**

# Meeting of the Hunter College Senate 2 May 2012

The 536<sup>th</sup> meeting of the Hunter College Senate was convened at 3:55 PM in Room W714. 1 2 3 **Presiding:** Sandra Clarkson, Chair 4 5 Attendance: The elected members of the Senate with the exception of those listed in Appendix I. 6 7 Alternate Senators were formally seated in accordance with the procedures approved by the 8 Senate, and clickers were distributed to them. 9 10 It was moved that the agenda be changed to allow the Chair of the Undergraduate Course of 11 Study to report at this time. The motion carried by voice vote. 12 13 Committee **Undergraduate Course of Study Committee** 14 Report: The Chair called on the Chair of the Undergraduate Course of Study Committee, Professor 15 Eckhard Khun-Osius, who presented the report dated 2 May 2012. 16 17 Report by the Undergraduate Course of Study Committee 18 Re: Course Proposals by Units without Major, Minor, or Certificate Programs 19 20 In its February 28, 2012 meeting, the Undergraduate Course of Study Committee agreed 21 that undergraduate academic courses which are to be offered by any unit of Hunter college 22 that does not offer an approved major, minor, or certificate program are to be considered in 23 terms of how they may complement Hunter College's approved major, minor, or certificate 24 programs in the context of the College's overall educational goals. A course proposal by a 25 unit of Hunter College without an approved major, minor, or certificate program therefore is 26 to be submitted to the Divisional/School curriculum committee(s) of the discipline(s) which 27 the proposed course is to complement. The unit proposing the course shall be invited to 28 send one or more representative(s) to the appropriate divisional/school curriculum 29 committee(s). After going through one or more of those curriculum committees, as 30 appropriate, the course proposal may then be brought to the Senate Undergraduate Course 31 of Study Committee and the Senate for approval. 32 The minutes from April 18<sup>th</sup> were approved as distributed. 33 **Minutes:** 34 35 Report by the There was no report. 36 **President:** 37 38 Report by the The Chair presented the report as follows: 39 Administrative 40 **Committee:** 41 a) Approved Curriculum Changes 42 The following curriculum changes as listed in the Report dated 2 May 2012 have been approved 43 as per Senate resolution and are submitted for the Senate's information: Items GS-894 (Special

Education), GS-896 (School Of Nursing), GS-897 (C&T/Educational Foundations/Special

Education), GS-898 (Special Education), GS-899 (Special Education), GS-900 (Educational

44

45

46

Foundations).

Meeting of the Hunter College Senate 2 May 2012		
55		
It was moved that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried and the meeting adjour	ned a	t
57 4:05 PM.		
58		
59		
Respectfully submitted,		
61		
62		
63		
64		
65 Lisa Marie Anderson		
Secretary		

### APPENDIX I

The following members were noted as absent from the meeting

## **Faculty**

Africana&PR/Latino Studies Edgardo Melendez (A)
Anthropology Judith Friedlander (A)

Marc Edelman (A)

Ida Susser

Art Richard Stapleford
Biological Sciences Paul Feinstein
Chemistry Gary Quigley (A)
Pamela Mills (A)
Classical & Oriental Studies Joanne Spurza

Classical & Oriental Studies
Computer Science
Joanne Spurza
Felisa Vasquez-Abad
Saad Mneimeh (A)

Curriculum & Teaching Jody Polleck (A)

Melissa Schieble (A) Jason Wirtz "E"

Economics Timothy Goodspeed (A)

Howard Chernick Avi Liveson

Educational Foundations Arnold Wolf (A)
English Chong Chon-Smith

Barbara Webb Film & Media Michael Gitlin

Film & Media Michael Gitlin
Ricardo Miranda (A)

Geography Wenge Ni-Meister (A)
Allan Frei (A)

Traci Warkentin

Health Sciences Shahana Mahajan "E" History Daniel Hurewitz (A) "E"

Mathematics & Statistics Verna Segarra (A)
Patrick Burke (A) "E"

Music Maura Donohue (A)
Jewell Thompson
Nursing David Keepnews
Terry Yannaco (A)

Joan Arnold (A)
Omar Dahbour (A)

Philosophy Omar Dahbour (A)
Laura Keating

Political Science Robyn Marasco Robert Jenkins (A)

Charles Tien (A)

Psychology Tricia Striano (A) Peter Moller (A)

Jason Young

Romance Languages Maria Cornelio (A)
School of Social Work Nancy Giunta (A)
Michael Lewis
Marina Lalayants (A)

Sociology Joong-Hwan Oh (A)
Special Education David Conner (A
Urban Public Health Lydia Isaac (A)

Lecturers and Part-Time Faculty

Ashley Vaught (Philosophy)
Barbara Barone (Math & Statistics)
Barbara Sproul (Religion)
Carmela Scala (Romance Languages)

Claus Mueller (Sociology)

Laxmi Ramasubramanian (Urban Affairs) "E"

# Administration

Dean Gail McCain (A)

#### Ex-Officio

Ranette Garcia, USG Pres. Sonya Acevedo, CLT Council Pres. Theodore Ryo, GSA Pres. Patricia Rudden, Alumni Assoc.

#### Students

Nada Aziz (Geography) Michael Green (Economics) Rochelle Thewet (Philosophy) Loranzo Donvito (Romance Lang.)

Sarah Alshawish (Bio)

Maggi Delgado (Film & Media) Matthew Evanusa (Music) Ambalika Boodrham (THHP)

Krishan Sharma Andy Lall "E" Eileen Chen (Psych)

Alexander Lemell (Philosophy) Jarret Freeman (undecl.)

Eli Cohen

Raoul Valencia (undecl) Shaun Persaud (English) Umila Singh (Economics) Deodat Ruplall (Comp Sci) Kevon Rankin (Poli Sci) Karen Ciego (SW) Ireina Cupeles (SEEK)

Marcin Wisniewski (Music Grad) Runako Taylor (Grad. Classics) Meg Krietsch (Anthopology)

Raya Harris (undecl.) Will Lewis Anna Kovalevska Caroline Park

Sandrea Sicangco (Biology) George Pierrakeas Chaya Shagalov (SW) Jude Cyril Buenasedo Eamon Pickard (Physics) Zhang Chong Chen

Dennis Luo Yan Zeng (Engl)

Shaochun Chao (undecl.) Andrea Montesdeoca (undecl.) Alexcia Foster (Theatre & Art)